Pregnant and in Nursing School…are you crazy?!

January 10, 2013 at 5:50 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )

 

Christina graduated from the Accelerated Second Degree program in December 2011. She is currently working on the Orthopaedic/Joint Replacement/Neuroscience unit at Henry Ford Hospital. As a student, she worked as a Lab Assistant and mentor to the incoming class in the Fall of 2011, was presented with the Leadership Award at graduation, and is a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Society. She also holds a B.A. in Interior Design from Michigan State University.

Christina graduated from the Accelerated Second Degree program in December 2011. She is currently working on the Orthopaedic/Joint Replacement/Neuroscience unit at Henry Ford Hospital. As a student, she worked as a Lab Assistant and mentor to the incoming class in the Fall of 2011, was presented with the Leadership Award at graduation, and is a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Society. She also holds a B.A. in Interior Design from Michigan State University.

 

You could say that I may have been a little inspired while going through my Labor and Delivery / Pediatric clinicals.

Trust me, I was not the only one in my cohort who may or may not have been all that inspired to not only tackle nursing school, but to start a family. Being a second-degree student, many of us are slightly older and seasoned than our traditional nursing degree counterparts. Some of us have “timelines” in our heads, if you will. I had a number of goals during the year 2011, and high on my list was also starting a family.

Much to my delight, I found out that I was indeed pregnant about halfway through the program. Thankfully the program only lasts 12 months! Lucky me, I found out that another one of my friends in the program was as crazy as I was and happened to be about four weeks ahead of me in the pregnancy department.
It was great to have a partner in crime and not be the only one getting the side eyed stares, or the “is she crazy to get pregnant during nursing school!” looks.

I decided to write this post as I think there are others out there who, like me, want to do it all. You want to go to nursing school. You want to start family. I say, go for it! Maybe not everyone is going to support your decision, and maybe you will get some flack from some people, but in the end, you have to do what is right for you.

How did I manage to be pregnant during the program and succeed?

Well, I took it one day at a time. I leaned on those closest to me. I was kind to myself. In all honesty, I really did not change one thing about my routine other than trying to go to bed earlier. I had made it through the program successfully during the first six months, so I thought I would just keep on keeping on. Yes, there were days I was tired. There were days I did not want to help a patient to the bedside commode for fear of being sick to my stomach.

But everyday was an opportunity to help someone and learn something new. Being pregnant actually was a great conversation starter for many people and put them at ease with me when it came to patient relations.

When I graduated the program, I was seven months pregnant. I made sure to take the NCLEX exam ASAP so that I could be licensed prior to my delivery date. Everything was “full speed ahead.” I think when there are deadlines in life, it helps to motivate and make decisions. In my opinion, I made some great decisions and met all of my life goals for the year. Long story short, only you know what is right for you and what you can manage.

Do what feels right and follow your heart.

 

7 Comments

  1. Sim D said,

    Thanks for posting. I have similar goals and thought I’d browse the web for a motivating nursing school life changing story. I’m still a student at OCC taking science prereqs in order to apply for the 2nd degree program. I am older and now tackling future career change and desire to start a family. The thought is overwhelming at times. However, reading this post offered some easement. Its never too late to do it all. Congrats on the new baby and career.

    • Sue Wiers said,

      Sim D – please monitor this site. I am soon posting a commentary about how old is too old for pursuing a degree.

      • Sim D. said,

        Hi Sue

        Can’t wait to read. I imagine “old” is a state of mind. I enjoyed reading Christina’s post because similar to her, I am looking to change careers and start a family. I am in my mid 30’s and have enjoyed the benifits of my first degree. I have traveled and lived in various places around the world. Having recently returned from Europe. I realize that life with a child in tow is not feasible. Neither maintaining a relationship across the Atlantic:-) Hence, it was great when I was younger. No longer so, now that I’m a bit older.

      • KinaG said,

        Please do not let your age discourage you from pursing higher education. This is a huge misconception and I have learned plenty from my older classmates throughout nursing school. Imagine hearing how medical technology and advice has changed from when someone older was growing up compared to when you grew up. It makes for interesting discussions within the learning environment. Currently, there are a few people in my cohort who are old enough to be my parents and they would cringe at what you’re insinuating. It is NEVER too late to go back to earn a degree. I would encourage anyone choosing to pursue a career in nursing to go right ahead. OU offers a traditional program and online courses for individuals who are a bit seasoned when it comes to learning. I wasn’t the youngest person in my class, nor was I the oldest person. However, everyone was treated was respected. Age should not prevent someone from following their passion. In sum, one is never too old to chase something that they’ve wanted to their entire life. After all, we will all (young and old) graduate in less than 3 weeks. Be inspired!

  2. Sim D said,

    Thanks Kina and congratulations!!!

  3. Suzi said,

    Just wondering how the pregnancy/birth had an affect post school. I am currently in a 15 month program, with 9 months of the program left, and considering starting to try and get pregnant. I want to make sure that if I do complete the program and pass the NCLEX, I won’t be too far behind when it comes to applying for jobs as I would probably have a newborn at that point. Thoughts on that?

  4. Kelly said,

    Thanks for posting. I also had plans to start a family as I am getting older but also want to finally finish my nursing degree I have been working towards. I started an 8 month nursing program at 5 months pregnant. I will be due to give birth right in the middle of the program. I plan on coming right back a few days after the birth and completing the last 4 months. There are days I get very tired and my legs are very swollen. I just take it one day at a time and take care of myself. Thank you for your encouraging post.

Leave a Reply

